December Nature Networking Party

Please reserve the late afternoon/early evening (4:00 – 9:00 p.m.) on Thursday, December 18 to drop in and meet up with your environmental friends (old and new) at the newly renovated Environmental Gathering Place (top floor of the old Mercy convent school by the Basilica).  Everyone interested in the environment and nature is invited to drop in.  Bring a friend.  Bring a treat or “finger-food” that doesn’t require plates or cutlery to share.  Coffee and tea provided. 

 

Jointly sponsored by NatureNL, NLEN, NAACAP, and CPAWS.

Christmas Bird Counts – 2014

Confirmed locations, dates and contact information for compilers of Christmas Bird Counts taking place in Newfoundland and Labrador during the 2014 Christmas season:

 

Count Date Location Description Compiler E-mail
12/14/2014 Wabush-Labrador At intersection of Avalon Drive and Hwy 500 Gordon Parsons gordon_parsons@hotmail.com
TBD Happy Valley-Gosse Bay Goose Bay Airport, bounded by Gosling Man O’war Island; W of Dove Mt. Tony Chubbs chubbs@nf.sympatico.ca
12/20/2014 St. Paul’s-Cow Head Darroch Whitaker darroch.whitaker@pc.gc.ca
12/17/2014 Bonne Bay At Gadd’s Point light Darroch Whitaker darroch.whitaker@pc.gc.ca
12/20/2014 Corner Brook Ballm Bridge Lois Bateman lbateman@grenfell.mun.ca
TBD Stevenville St. Georges Baie Point, 6 mi due W of Indien Head Light Janice Flynn janiceflynn@nf.sympatico.ca
12/20/2014 Cape St. Mary’s ~4 mi due N of Point Lance Alvan Buckley alvanbuckley@gmail.com
12/14/2014 Cape Race 4 mi NNW of Cape Race lighthouse Bruce McTavish bruce.mactavish1@nf.sympatico.ca
1/3/2015 Ferryland 1.6 mi N of main wharf, Pt. Kirwin Bruce McTavish bruce.mactavish1@nf.sympatico.ca
12/26/2014 St. John’s Confederation Building Alvan Buckley alvanbuckley@gmail.com
TBD Terra Nova N.P. (north) 1 mile due S of Eastport Causeway, 0.5 mile W of Jay Pond Janet Feltham janet.feltham@pc.gc.ca
TBD Gander Twin Ponds on Trans-Canada Highway J. Kevin Butler jkb@nl.rogers.com

Need a last Minute, Meaningful Gift?

Nature NL Gift Membership

 

For $25, you can give the gift of a 2015 membership to help promote and protect nature in Newfoundland & Labrador.

Members receive electronic access to “The Osprey”, Nature NL’s quarterly natural history journal, and invitations to our monthly events.

 

Click here to download a gift membership form or purchase online!

Then, you can download a Gift Card here (tip: when printing, you may need to select double-sided/duplexed and “short edge binding” to get a sheet that can be folded over to form your card).

Looking for Citizen Science site NLNature? Click here
 
Looking for the Newfoundland and Labrador Nature Atlas? Click here

Support NatureNL

We are a dedicated group interested in promoting the enjoyment and protection of all wildlife and natural history resources in Newfoundland and Labrador. Our members receive notices about our monthly indoor and outdoor nature activities and a copy of our quarterly publication, The Osprey. Become a member, or donate, and help us preserve interest in nature.    
Facebook page